COSMOPOLITAN PLAYERS AGM

5TH September 2023

ATTENDEES

Carolyn Craven, Gillian Myers, Emma McGrath, Elaine Jackson, Nick Thatcher, Louise Hirst, Jan Morrell, Lara Woodhouse, Bryan Craven, Matt Hills, Diane McHale-Fannan, Shirley Hoyland

APOLOGIES

Michael Wilkinson, Tracey Wilkinson, Pat Jowett, Richard Hunt, Lee Sharratt, Leah Hamilton, Reasha, Hollingsworth, Linda McHale

MINUTES SILENCE

A minutes silence was held to remember Barry Unwin, Pam Elsey and Sylvia Bradburn who sadly passed away this year.

It was agreed that £40 would be donated to Cancer Research in memory of Barry and £40 to PDSA in memory of Pam who were long standing members of COS.

MINUTES OF LAST AGM on 6TH September 2022

Minutes had previously been circulated although Chairs report was not. Elaine Jackson read out the Chairs report.

Lara Woodhouse proposed minutes be agreed Seconded by Gillian Myers. Minutes were approved

Elaine Jackson reported that it was necessary to set up a Management Team to run COS which consisted of Elaine Jackson, Carolyn Craven and Gillian Myers.

MANAGEMENT TEAM REPORT

Copy of Management Team report attached

Diane McHale-Fannan proposed a vote of thanks to the Management Team.

TREASURERS REPORT

Gillian Myers distributed a copy of the audited accounts for 2022/2023.

Gillian highlighted the unavoidable costs we have e.g Subscription to LeedsCAN which is now £50 per year, Insurance. Some of the benefits we get from being members of LCAN is reduced room and theatre hire, advertising groups productions and encouraging other group members to attend shows.

Questions were raised regarding COS Insurance It was agreed it would be looked at to see if we are getting value for money

The issue of introducing a production membership was raised at last years AGM. Committee had discussed this and propose general subs being £25 and then a £20 show fee. After discussion about whether this would be a more expensive option it was agreed that we would try it this year and to look at next year if we are doing more productions.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

.

Nominations have been received as follows:-

CHAIR	Elaine Jackson
SECRETARY	Nick Thatcher and Jan Morrell
PRESS and PUBLICITY	Carolyn Craven
COMMITTEE	Leah Hamilton
	Emma McGrath
	Lara Woodhouse
	Lee Sharratt
	Diane McHale Fannon

The meeting agreed that with the exception of Secretary we accept the rest of the nominations on block.

A secret ballot was held for Secretary. Jan Morrell was appointed as Secretary it was agreed that Nick would become a committee member.

We now have a full committee with 3 Officers and 6 Voting Committee Members

It was agreed that we would move away from a Management Committee now that we had a full committee.

There being no other business the AGM meeting was closed and an Open Forum would follow.